RSS

Questions…Doubts…Growing From Within

10 Jul

I am a person who likes to plan everything.  Part of my planning is so I can be prepared for what is to come; another part is probably a not-so-healthy desire to be in control.  So truly when my husband and I started talking about getting pregnant I “planned it.”  I began tracking everything and after some months there was nothing new on the horizon.  Ultimately when we stopped trying to be in charge it happened…we got pregnant.  And you know what? The timing has been quite perfect…so someone else knew what was going on. 😉

So now we are 26 weeks and 5 days pregnant, about to enter into the 3rd trimester, and the questions and doubts seem to be growing about as quickly as our baby is growing!  Can I really do this?  Am I going to be a good mom?  Did we wait too long? Are we ready for this?

Here’s the thing…these questions are always going to be here, whether it is before birth, the week after, on the eve of the first day of school, high school graduation, etc…  These questions are “normal” and “natural” and all parents have them….managing them is what is important.  When they become the center of thinking, well then I am not so sure these questions are helpful.

My recent prayer is this, “Dear God, I give you thanks for the growing life within me.  Help me make the best choices for the little guy.  And help me not become overwhelmed with the questions and the doubts of my ability to be the mom you are calling me to be. Help me know your love and grace so that I can share that love and grace with my son.  Amen.”  

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment