RSS

3rd Trimester – Time’s A Ticking…

26 Jul
3rd Trimester – Time’s A Ticking…

Well we have crossed over and entered into the 3rd Trimester.  To get this one off and running we have now increased our doctor visits to every two weeks (to increase to weekly in mid-September), we’ve begun birthing classes, and we are a week away from our first baby shower.  Wow, how time flies.

But here’s the thing, at times and in a very many places I don’t feel like we are that “far along” or ready to be in this space.

First, there’s the house – truly we’ve not done any of the things we have talked about doing to be ready for the little guy’s arrival.  The to-be nursery is still a guest room – currently being lived in my my stepdaughter.  Over the next two weeks we are going to try to move it into full gear and transform it with a simple paint design (two main lines) and a clearing of the closet.  We have a crib (thanks Grandma/Grandpa) and a glider (thanks Grandmother/Granddad) and the bedding set.  So this will surely be what it needs to be – when it needs to be.

Second, there’s my body.  I was greatly aware that I felt not-sufficient when we attended our first birthing class last week.  You see, I haven’t gained any weight (lost a lot in the first tri and have now returned to what I was before we found out) and my belly has changed shape, but isn’t the belly ball that most everyone thinks about for pregnant woman.  I know the little guy is fine and growing, he’s a kicker a lot of the time too – but the physical piece has caught me off guard – or at least that I am struggling with it.  I have asked my doctor and he (our main doctor has just given birth herself, so we’ve started with a partner) says all is fine and we’ll keep checking in the weeks to come. In good news in this area I passed my glucose test which is great, but also discovered I’m anemic.  So some added iron in the mix and a bit more attention to iron rich foods (my husband can not stop taunting me with spinach and kale, both of which I hate.)

Finally, there’s work.  I am not as far “ahead” as I wanted to be, as the last couple of weeks have been more “pastoral care/crisis” mode than prep, planning, study.  That’s the nature of the work of a pastor, and I am truly blessed to be able to walk with people in all their ups and downs, but the “J-ness” of my mind is driving me nuts.  

So I have begun to hear the tick, tick, tick….and while we are still fairly calm and excited, my anxiety is growing.  I am praying that God would help to calm my spirit and mind, and rest in the promise of new life that lies ahead.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment